
California State Mandated Fee of $1.00 for all Business Licenses and Renewal of Business Licenses: 
 

California CASP Fee: SB‐1186, effective 01/01/13, adds a State Mandated Fee of $1.00  
on any applicant for a business license and renewal of business license. 

 
Brief summary of SB‐1186 and how it affects local government: 

 

This  bill would  impose,  on  and  after  January  1,  2013,  and  until  December  31,  2018,  an 
additional  state  fee  of  $1  on  any  applicant  for  a  local  business  license  or  equivalent 
instrument or permit, or  renewal  thereof,  for purposes of  increasing disability access and 
compliance with construction‐related accessibility requirements and developing educational 
resources  for businesses  to  facilitate  compliance with  federal and  state disability  laws, as 
specified.  The bill would create a continuously appropriated fund, the Disability Access and 
Education Revolving Fund, for the deposit of funds to be transferred to the Division of the 
State Architect, thereby making an appropriation.  By adding to the duties of a local entity, 
this bill would impose a state‐mandated local program. 

 
For more information on SB‐1186, please visit http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov, keyword: 1186. 
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